Train Museum Sacramento, CA

Railroad Museum Sacramento, CA

I live in Elk Grove, a small city just south of Sacramento,  Ca.  I was born and raised in Sacramento and love it. I have literally been around the world and I am glad to call Sacramento home.  When a lot of people think of Sacramento they say “yeah that’s between San Francisco and Lake Tahoe right?”  This is true but there is more to it than just a pit stop from A to B.  Sadly enough I have met fellow Californians that didn’t know that Sacramento is the Capitol of California.  For a good amount of time in the 90’s we were known as the home of the NBA franchise Sacramento Kings, but the glory days have since slipped away. Heck we almost lost our team, but they are still here.  Well now that I am way of topic, let me get back to the question asked above.  Do you ever play tourist?  I’m not talking about going on vacation and visiting some far off city, I’m asking if you ever play tourist in your own city or town.  Like I stated before I have lived here most of my life and there are still some things that I am yet to see or experience.  Just last year I went to the Railroad Museum in Old Sacramento, I know who wants to see a bunch of old trains in a museum, and I felt the same way, well that changed.  During the last Scott Kelby World Wide Photo Walk a local photographer set up a pre-open photo walk at the museum. We were granted special access to the museum, ropes were set aside tripods were allowed and just having a handful of people in the museum, all photographers made it easy to set up and accomplish long exposure shots.  We had roughly three hours to ourselves, I could have easily spent all day in there.  This experience has taught me that playing tourist in your own town or city can be interesting and fun.  So search your town online just like a tourist would and check it out, don’t worry about packing your bags or hotel accommodations, just get out there and explore.  Oh one more thing don’t forget to take your camera with you.

Railroad Museum Sacramento, CA

Railroad Museum Sacramento, CA

Railroad Museum Sacramento, CA

Railroad Museum Sacramento, CA

