Daisy

Daisy

Week 5… the late bloomer.

Unlike this Spring, if you can call it Spring because it’s been hot, this post is a late bloomer.  I actually prefer fashionably late, it sounds intentional and has more flare.  My stranger for this week is actually very close to my photography, but in a distant manner.There is a park close to where I work called William Land Park that has a beautiful garden that always has something in bloom no matter what the season is.  I have visited this park on numerous occasions and my camera is right there with me.  Back to that garden I mentioned earlier,  it’s called the “Rock Garden”, and with in this garden there are a large variety of flowers, shrubs, trees, insects, squirrels and birds.  I have to attribute a good number of my floral photographs to this garden.  Which brings me to my former stranger Daisy.  Daisy is largely responsible for the care and upkeep of this beautiful garden.  She loves her job, she said to me “where else can you get an office like this?” as she looked over her garden, and yes this  is a public garden but it is very much hers.  Daisy has been working on the Rock Garden since 1988.  Yes you read that right 1988.  She confided in me that her time here in the garden is drawing to a conclusion and that she will be retiring this coming October.  Sure, someone will step in and fill her position but when that much experience and personal care leaves, there is quite a void to fill.  This garden represents a large part of Daisy’s life and visitors of this beautiful garden have benefited from her hard work and dedication for over 24  years and more than likely never knew the story behind the Rock Garden.

